Reusing a registration key


The VaultPress registration key and the site URL listed in the VaultPress dashboard are the links needed for our system to know which site to backup. As a result, the same registration key can be reused on a different site if you no longer need the key on the current site.

To clarify, the registration key can only be used on 1 site, but it can be reused!

Instructions to re-use a key

  1. If your old website is still online, please deactivate the VaultPress plugin from the Plugins page on your WordPress dashboard. If the site URL does not change or if the old website goes offline, there’s no need to deactivate the plugin. To do this, head to Plugins > VaultPress > Deactivate.
  2. Install the VaultPress plugin on the new installation. Don’t try to register the plugin just yet!
  3. Update the Site URL in your VaultPress settings on the Access page:update site url
  4. Register the VaultPress plugin on the new installation

Troubleshooting steps

If you run into an error indicating that a registration key can’t be used more than once, double check that the Site URL is correct in the VaultPress dashboard.

Most importantly, make sure the URL on your VaultPress dashboard matches the URL on your WordPress Settings -> General page. Particularly, make sure to check if ‘www’ is needed in front of the URL or not, as lots of issues arise due to URL formatting. Moreover, if the website is using SSL, make sure the URL is formatted correctly for SSL websites (https:// instead of http://).

Any questions?

If you have any questions, or need assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us. We’re happy to help!